Good number of ballots cast during early voting

Erin Smith Staff writer

October 17, 2013

ELIZABETHTOWN — The ballot box is filling up as early voting for municipal offices is in full swing.
As of Friday afternoon, 298 total votes have been cast in the county. According to Bladen County Board of Elections Deputy Director Marsha White, that total includes all absentee ballots that have been received thus far.
“That's pretty good for a municipal election,” said White.
There is still plenty of time to cast your ballot if you haven't done so. One Stop Voting is taking place at the Bladen County Public Library in Elizabethtown. The library in located at 111 N. Cypress St., Elizabethtown.
Poll hours are:
— Monday, Oct. 28, through Friday, Nov. 1, from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.
— Saturday, Nov. 2, from 8:30 a.m. until 1 p.m.
In Tar Heel, incumbents are on the ballot and running unopposed for the mayor and two council seats — Roy Dew will serve another two-year term as mayor, while Angie Hall and Sam Allen will serve another two-year term as council members. A write-in candidate will fill the remaining seat.
In Bladenboro, a trio of candidates will be vying for the mayor's seat and six individuals are looking for three council seats. Incumbent Mayor Livingston Lewis has filed seeking re-election, but he will be challenged by both Ken Chavis and Rufus Duckworth. Three incumbents will face the challenges of three candidates for seats on the council. Billy Ray Benson, Mitchell Hughes and Steve Bryan are seeking re-election, but will be challenged by Bud Freeman, Jeff Atkinson and Curtis Timothy Benton Jr.
In White Lake, five candidates will vie for three seats on the town council. Incumbents Tim Blount, Mike Suggs and Barbara Williams will face challenges by Harvey Iwerks and Paul A. Evans.
In Elizabethtown, four candidates have filed to run for three available seats on the town council. Incumbents Rufus D. Lloyd, Herman L. Lewis and Paula Greene will be challenged by Ivan T. Davis.
In the town of Dublin, incumbent Jeffrey Smith will face a challenge by newcomer Thomas I. Thompson for the one seat open on the town council.
The rest of the ballot will include the following unopposed candidates: Incumbent Dublin Mayor Horace Wyatt for the two-year seat; incumbents Perry Blanks and Lillian Graham for the four-year seats on the East Arcadia Town Council; and, incumbent Tim Tart and newcomer Jason Lewis for four-year seats on the Clarkton Town Council.