Retired school personnel meet

May 16, 2014

ELIZABETHTOWN — The Retired School Personnel of Bladen County met on May 8 at the Elizabethtown Presbyterian Church Fellowship Hall and enjoyed Bladen County Clerk of Superior Court Niki Dennis as speaker.

Dennis told of her responsibilities of her job and of the constant changes and updates in requirements in the justice system.

Katherine Inscoe Taylor, president, had welcomed the personnel and called upon Patricia Delillo for the invocation. She played the guitar and sang a hymn as Trish Inscoe served donuts and coffee to the members.

New officers were installed by Dennis as follows: Jean Lloyd, president; Brenda Smith Sykes, vice-president; Darlene Esters, secretary; Suzette Lewis-Brooks, treasurer; and Taylor, past president. They will assume office on July 1.

Business included minutes by Esters and the treasurer’s report by Lewis-Brooks. The half-and-half drawing was presented by Robah Britt to Ernest Bacote and Rufus Lloyd. Taylor commended Mary Stokes for being the oldest active member of the organization and thanked the following members for their attendance: Almira Johnson, Peggy Allen, Dorothy Peterson, Mickie Davis, Audra Cole, Betty McLaughlin, Juanita Jones, and those already mentioned above.