Last updated: October 23. 2013 10:01AM - 605 Views
By - erinsmith@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

ELIZABETHTOWN — Bladen County voters have been heading to the polls in steady numbers this week during the early-voting period. As of Wednesday morning, about 180 ballots had been cast for the county’s Nov. 5 municipal elections.

One-Stop Voting is taking place in only one location — at the Bladen County Public Library in Elizabethtown, located at 111 N. Cypress St.

Upcoming poll hours are:

— Monday, Oct. 21, through Friday, Oct. 25, from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.

— Monday, Oct. 28, through Friday, Nov. 1, from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.

— Saturday, Nov. 2, from 8:30 a.m. until 1 p.m.

In Tar Heel, incumbents are on the ballot and running unopposed for the mayor and two council seats — Roy Dew will serve another two-year term as mayor, while Angie Hall and Sam Allen will serve another two-year term as council members. A write-in candidate will fill the remaining seat.

In Bladenboro, a trio of candidates are jockeying for the mayor’s seat and six individuals are looking for three council seats. Incumbent Mayor Livingston Lewis filed seeking re-election, but he is being challenged by both Ken Chavis and Rufus Duckworth. Three incumbents will face the challenges of three candidates for seats on the council. Billy Ray Benson, Mitchell Hughes and Steve Bryan are seeking re-election, but are being challenged by Bud Freeman, Jeff Atkinson and Curtis Timothy Benton Jr.

In White Lake, five candidates are vying for three seats on the town council. Incumbents Tim Blount, Mike Suggs and Barbara Williams are being challenged by Harvey Iwerks and Paul A. Evans.

In Elizabethtown, four candidates filed to run for the three available seats on the town council. Incumbents Rufus D. Lloyd, Herman L. Lewis and Paula Greene face a challenge from Ivan T. Davis.

In the town of Dublin, incumbent Jeffrey Smith faces a challenge by newcomer Thomas I. Thompson for the one seat open on the town council.

The rest of the local ballot will include the following unopposed candidates: Incumbent Dublin Mayor Horace Wyatt for the two-year seat; incumbents Perry Blanks and Lillian Graham for the four-year seats on the East Arcadia Town Council; and, incumbent Tim Tart and newcomer Jason Lewis for four-year seats on the Clarkton Town Council.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elizabethtown Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com