Last updated: February 07. 2014 3:03PM - 562 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

RALEIGH — The Corn Growers Association of North Carolina held its annual meeting recently at the Joint commodities Conference at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center at Research Triangle Park.

Wade Byrd, a Bladen County farmer, was elected president of the association, and Joshua Gaddy was elected to the Board of Directors. Gaddy resides in Sampson County and farms in Duplin County.

Byrd has been a member of the board of directors of the Corn Growers Association for many years, serving on every committee of the association at one time or another. He most recently served as Research and Extension chairman, the busiest committee of the organization.

This is his second term as president of the Corn Growers Association of North Carolina. In 2004 he received the Award for Distinguished Service, the highest honor the association gives.

Byrd is a graduate of North Carolina State University with a degree in animal science. He and his wife Nancy are active members of their church and involved in many community activities. Byrd is especially active in a number of agricultural groups in the county and state.

He and Nancy are the parents of two grown sons and four grandchildren.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elizabethtown Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com