Last updated: June 19. 2014 2:35PM - 432 Views
Valerie Newton Special to the Journal

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

ELIZABETHTOWN — At a recent meeting of the Bladen County Board of Education, board members honored the 2014-2015 school level Teachers of the Year.

They were:

— Booker T. Washington – Tarrah Woodruff

— Bladenboro Middle – James Bowers

— Bladenboro Primary – Lauren Applewhite

— Bladen Lakes Primary – Tonya Landreth

— Clarkton School of Discovery – Heather Thompson

— Dublin Primary – Sabrina Sasser

— East Arcadia School – Sarah Thrailkill

— East Bladen High School – Betty Conner

— Elizabethtown Middle – Robin Fassnacht

— Elizabethtown Primary – Lateia Kelly

— Plain View Primary – Dana Rogers

— Tar Heel Middle – Phillip Turnage

— West Bladen High School – Sharon Baxley

Also, the 2014-15 Bladen County Teacher of the Year Sabrina Sasser of Dublin Primary was recognized by the board.

Sasser is a graduate of East Bladen High School and a graduate of UNC-Pembroke with a bachelor of science in elementary education K-6. She has been a teacher at Dublin Primary School from 1995 to present for a total of 19 years. This is her 11th year teaching second grade. Previously, she taught pre-K for eight years.

Sasser states that her greatest reward is when the students she has been entrusted with educating make outstanding progress, and when each child reaches his/her growth goals and exceeds them, it gives her feelings of great joy.

She has been married to her husband Robert for 26 years and they have three sons.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Elizabethtown Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com