Wilson wins Oren Taylor Memorial

DUBLIN —Daulton Wilson of Fayetteville led every lap of the eighth annual Oren Taylor Memorial Late Model race on Saturday at Dublin Motor Speedway and drove away with the $3,500 winner’s check.

It was the third straight weekend win for Wilson.

The race has been held since 2009 in honor of Taylor, who was the owner and founder of of the race track. He passed away in 2007.

Wilson got his biggest challenge of the evening when Russell Erwin a double-winner in the Oren Taylor Memorial race, nearly passed Wilson on a restart 12 laps into the race. But Wilson and Erwin bumped in turn one and Erwin spun, giving Wilson a clear path to the checkered flag 18 laps later.

Wilson was never challenged the rest of the way, despite two more restarts, and outraced the other 15 cars.

Brian Strickland finished second and Shaun Sewell was third.

In the other races of the night:

— Ryan Gilbert won the Pure Stock.

— Benji Thompson won the Super Street.

— Eric Bentley won in Open-Wheel Modified.

— James Gardner took the U-Cars.

comments powered by Disqus