Top Eagles tabbed

East Bladen awards itsbest athletes for 2015-16

Staff report

ELIZABETHTOWN — East Bladen High School held its annual sports banquet on Wednesday for coaches to hand out deserved hardware to their top athletes during the 2015-16 school year.

The big winners for the Eagles were seniors Lacey Suggs and Alex Coates, who were named Female Athlete of the Year and Male Athlete of the Year, respectively.

Suggs was a standout in volleyball, basketball and soccer this past year, while Coates was a top athlete in football and baseball.

A list of the awards are as follows:

Girls basketball

— MVP Lacey Suggs

— Outstanding Player of the Year Abby Ward

— Defensive Player of the Year Christiana Cromartie

— Coaches Award Miller Heustess

— Most Improved Emily Scott


— C0-MVP Miller Heustess

— Co-MVP Emily Scott

— Most Improved Shardajah Brown

— Defensive Player of the Year Faith Johnson

— Coaches Award Lauren Merritt

Boy’s basketball

— Free-Throw Award Jermaine Robinson

Girls tennis

— Co-MVP Kathryn Cole

— Co-MVP Cassie Hill

— MVP Singles Justyna Gargala


— Co-MVP Lacey Suggs

— Co-MVP Miller Heustess

— Coaches Award Claire Campbell


— MVP Cassidy Davis

— Coaches Award Willow Edge

Boys soccer

— Offensive Player of the Year Brooks McGill

— Co-Defensive Player of the Year Spencer Scott and Ezequiel Arteaga

— MVP Alex Felder

— Coaches Award Robert Fletcher

Cross country

— MVP Marley Ketterer

— Coaches Award Dawson Jessup


MVP Kyle Tatum

— Co-Offensive Player Award Ethan White

— Co-Offensive Player Award Ladreveus Baldwin

— Co-Defensive Player Award Chris Cromartie

— Co-Defensive Player Award Nikita Owens

— Coaches Award Tyquan McMillian

— Special Teams Award Ethan Hines


— MVP Kenneth Kinlaw

Track and field

— Co-MVP (girls) Tatiyuana Graham

— Co-MVP (girls) Danika Spaulding

— Co-MVP (boys) Eian Hines

— Co-MVP (boys) Ethan Hines


— MVP Alex Coates

— Co-Most Outstanding Players — Sincere Smith, Kyle Tatum and Xavier Wooten

— Co-Coaches Awards — Ty Watkins and Nikita Owens

Boys tennis

— MVP Jackson Hunt

— Coaches Award Adonis Johnson

Girls soccer

— MVP Lacey Suggs

— Coaches Award Lexie Mendell

— Offensive Player of the Year Abby Ward

— Defensive Player of the Year Claire Campbell
East Bladen awards itsbest athletes for 2015-16

Staff report

comments powered by Disqus