Bladen County Democrats elect officers for 2017

ELIZABETHTOWN — The Bladen County Democratic Party held its first meeting of 2017 on Feb. 21, and elected new officers.

The executive officers are: Chairman Ben Snyder; First Vice Chair Althea Weaver; Second Vice Chair Patsy Sheppard; Third Vice Chair Kristen Hursey; Secretary Janet Hall; and Treasurer Iris Martin.

Precinct meetings will be held until March 6, and the Bladen County Democratic Convention will be held during the first week in April, with the specific date, time, and location to be announced soon.

The Bladen County Chapter of Women Democrats of North Carolina also held its 2017 kickoff meeting on Feb. 21 and elected officers. They are: President Darlene Bryant; Vice President Charity Lewis; Secretary Patsy Sheppard; and Treasurer Rev. Rachel Mitchell.

The next meeting for the Democratic Women will be held on March 9 at 6 p.m., and meetings will be on the second Thursday of each month.

For more information about the Bladen County Democratic Party call Ben Snyder at 910-876-3565, Patsy Sheppard at 910-862-3322, or Janet Hall at 910-669-3300. Please visit us on Facebook at