Filing period opens Friday for municpal elections

By: W. Curt Vincent - Bladen Journal

ELIZABETHTOWN — On the heels of the annual Fourth of July celebration, those who plan to throw their hats into the ring for elected positions around Bladen County will have the chance to do so beginning Friday.

The filing session for the 2017 municipal elections will run through Thursday, July 27, at the Bladen County Board of Elections office, located at 301 S. Cypress St. in Elizabethtown.

According to the Board of Elections, the following non-partisan seats will be up for grabs in the Nov. 7 elections …

— Bladenboro Town Council: Mayor Rufus Duckworth, Billy Ray Benson, Jeff Atkinson, Cris Harrelson

— Clarkton Town Board: Jerome Myers, Tim Tart

— Dublin Town Board: Mayor Horace Wyatt, Jeffrey Smith

— East Arcadia Town Board: Lillian L. Graham, Pamela Graham

— Elizabethtown Town Council: Herman Lewis, Paula Greene, Rufus Lloyd

— Tar Heel Town Board: Mayor Roy Dew, Sam Allen, Michael Underwood, Angeline Hall

— White Lake Town Council: Mike Suggs, Tim Blount, Paul Evans

Those needing information on filing can call 910-862-6951 during regular business hours.

W. Curt Vincent can be reached by calling 910-862-4163.

W. Curt Vincent

Bladen Journal