4 Robeson residents named to state boards

RALEIGH — Four Robeson County residents were recently appointed by the state General Assembly to fill seats on various state boards and commissions. The appointments were recommendations of House Speaker Tim Moore, the leader of the Republican-controlled General Assembly.

Robeson County’s GOP chairman, Phillip Stephens, said that Robeson County “fared well” in the number of annual appointments made to state boards and commissions.

The local appointees are:

— Danny E. Britt, Jr., a Lumberton attorney, to the Rules Review Commission. The Rules Division of the Office of Administrative Hearings performs administrative and technical work by compiling and publishing the North Carolina Register and the North Carolina Administrative Code as required by state law.

— Gervais A. Oxendine, a retired businessman from Lumberton, to the North Carolina Railroad Company Board of Directors. The N.C. Railroad Company works with local, state and private partners in planning for freight and passenger rail service.

— Lee Grantham, a Lumberton businessman, to the Rural Infrastructure Authority. The Rural Economic Development Division of the North Carolina Department of Commerce is charged with improving the economic well-being and quality of life for North Carolinians with an emphasis on improving the economies of rural communities.

— John Thompson, of Lumberton, to the Alarm Systems Licensing Board. which administers licensing, education and training for individuals, firms, associations and corporations associated with the alarm systems business in North Carolina.