Two more candidates file for seats

ELIZABETHTOWN — The filing for municipal elections has gotten under way and the field of candidates vying for mayoral and city council seats is growing.

As of Friday morning, incumbent town commissioner Horace Munn has filed for re-election to his seat in East Arcadia and, in White Lake, Tim Clifton has filed seeking election to one of the three available town commissioner seats.

The filing period will end at noon on Friday, July 17.

Also filing earlier in the week are:

— In Elizabethtown, incumbent Mayor Sylvia Campbell and incumbent town councilmen Dicky Glenn, Ricky Leinwand and Darrell Page all filed seeking re-election to their respective seats. Thus far, they are facing no competition.

— In Bladenboro there are three town commissioners seats available and one town commissioner’s seat, which is an unexpired term. So far, Gene Norton is the lone candidate to file seeking election.

— In Clarkton, incumbent Mayor Arthur Whedbee has filed seeking re-election to his seat. There is also one town commissioner’s seat available.

— In East Arcadia, the mayor’s seat and three town commissioners seats are available and one town commissioner’s seat which is an unexpired term is also available. Thus far, Munn is the only candidate to file in the municipal race for the town.

— In Dublin, the mayor’s seat and two town commissioners seats are available.

— In Tar Heel, the mayor’s seat and three town commissioner’s seats are available.

— In White lake, incumbent Mayor Goldston Womble and incumbent town councilmen Tom Riel, Tracey Scott Trivett, and Don Smith have al filed seeking re-election to their seats. They are joined by Clifton.

Bladen County Board of Elections Deputy Director Marsha White said the Board of Elections staff asks those filing for either Bladenboro or East Arcadia’s town commissioners seats to specify if they are filing for one of the unexpired terms or for one of the full four-year terms.

Erin Smith can be reached at 910-862-4613.