Bladen municipalities eligible for FEMA

RALEIGH, N.C. – Thirteen counties are eligible for additional FEMA Public Assistance grants for permanent repair and replacement of disaster-damaged infrastructure resulting from Hurricane Matthew.

The counties are Anson, Bladen, Chatham, Cumberland, Franklin, Halifax, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Nash, Richmond, Scotland and Wake. All of the counties except Franklin had previously been approved for Categories A and B (debris removal and emergency protective measures). Franklin was added for all categories this week.

The additional eligibility is for categories C through G, which includes permanent work on infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, parks and recreational facilities.

Damage assessments continue in North Carolina to determine eligibility for the Public Assistance Program.