Hester, McDuffie elected to state board

By: Staff report

RALEIGH — Two Bladen County men were elected to the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association’s board of directors during the 49th annual meeting in Durham on Friday.

Dan McDuffie of Council and Chris Hester of Bladenboro were elected to three-year terms on the board of directors and will represent Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover and Pender counties.

As a director on the state soybean board, Hester and McDuffie will be responsible for overseeing the soybean checkoff-funded research, marketing and communications work of the association, as well as conducting advocacy work on behalf of the state’s soybean industry.

North Carolina soybean producers elected the following officers for 2016: President – Jeff Peed of Aurora; Vice President – John Fleming of Scotland Neck; Secretary – Jeff Tyson of Nashville; and Treasurer – Bernard Lennon of Evergreen.

For information, call Charles Hall, CEO of the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association, at 800-839-5775.

Staff report