McGill, Raynor take top conference soccer awards

The 2017 varsity soccer season was a highly successful one for both the East Bladen and West Bladen teams — and the All-Three Rivers Conference selections released Monday rewarded that success.

The Eagles swept the tow top awards, as Brooks McGill was chosen the conference’s Player of the Year after scoring 32 goals and assisting on 38 others; and Jay Raynor was tabbed the Coach of the Year after leading East Bladen to a 14-0 conference mark and 21-2 overall record.

Along with McGill, the Eagles also had Jake Evans, Greyson Heustess, Spencer Scott and Pierce Melvin named to the first team. Caleb Hatchell, Gabe Barber, Ezequiel Arteaga, Keshaun Davis, Dan Tatum and Jacob Barber were tabbed for the honorable mention list.

West Bladen, which posted one of its best records at 7-6-1 in the conference and 7-9-2 overall, had Victor Lopez, Johnny Dominguez and Angel Martinez named to the first team. Kenny Verdugo Gomez, Joseph Masaid, Chris Frank and Fernando Carranza were selected to the honorable mentoin list for the Knights.