Summer basketball camp scholarships available

By: Staff report

BURGAW — Four County EMC is offering basketball camp scholarships for rising sixth- through eighth-grade students.

Boys may apply for the Roy Williams camp at UNC-Chapel Hill and girls may apply for the Wes Moore Wolfpack Women’s Basketball Camp at N.C. State University. Two local students will be awarded scholarships, one for each camp. All expenses for the overnight camps will be paid for by Four County EMC.

Wes Moore, coach of the Wolfpack women’s basketball team, and Roy Williams, coach of the 2005 and 2009 national champion Carolina Tar Heel men’s basketball team, will each instruct campers with the help of staff and current players. Not only does the program allow North Carolina middle school students to spend time on a college campus, it also gives them the opportunity to receive individual and group instruction from two successful collegiate coaches to enhance their basketball skills.

Applications for both camps will be accepted from January through March 31. Applicants will be judged on their academic records, extra-curricular activities and an essay that must accompany the application. Judges’ results are expected to be announced to all applicants by May 1.

Recipients of the Touchstone Energy Wolfpack Women’s Basketball Camp scholarship will attend the overnight camp in Raleigh June 12-15. Recipients of the Touchstone Energy Roy Williams Basketball scholarship will attend the overnight camp in Chapel Hill from June 18-22. Campers must have permission from a parent or guardian to attend camp and must provide their own transportation to and from the camp.

Eligible students who are interested in the scholarship should contact Gay Johnson at or 1-888-368-7289. Students may also download applications and guidelines at

The Touchstone Energy Sports Camps program provides a unique educational and athletic opportunity for our state’s youth and demonstrates Touchstone Energy’s core values of accountability, integrity, innovation and particularly, commitment to community.

Four County Electric serves more than 32,500 members within Bladen, Duplin, Pender, Sampson, Columbus and Onslow counties.

Staff report