Eagles honor their athletes

By: Staff report

ELIZABETHTOWN — The East Bladen Athletics Department held its annual awards banquet recently and handed out numerous recognitions to student-athletes — including a handful of special awards.

Those special recognitions included …

— Female Athlete of the Year: The honor was presented to senior Emily Scott, a starter with the Lady Eagles’ volleyball, basketball and softball teams.

— Male Athlete of the Year: The award was presented to senior Kyle Tatum, a starter with the Eagles’ football and baseball teams.

— Joe Bostic Award: The recognition was given to Pierce Melvin, a member of the Eagles’ soccer, baseball and football teams.

— Lacy West Award: The honor was given to Dan Tatum, a member of the Eagles’ baseball and soccer teams.

— Wade Taylor Award: The award was presented to Anna Grace Long, a member of the Lady Eagles’ soccer and volleyball teams.

— Janice Martin Award: The award was given to Ayanna Avery, a member of the Lady Eagles’ soccer team.

Other team awards included …

Boys Basketball

— MVP: Eian Hines

— Offensive MVP: Adonis Avery

— Coaches Award: Xavier Wooten

Girls Basketball

— MVP: Ja’Tyra Moore-Peterson

— Defensive Player of the Year: Emily Scott

— Offensive Player of the Year: Shar’Dajah Brown

— Coaches Award: Ashley Hardin

Girls Tennis

— Singles MVP: Justyna Gargala

— Doubles MVP: Maddie West

— Doubles MVP: Trinity Carroll

Cross Country

— MVP: Marley Ketterer

— Coaches Award: Essence Lewis


— MVP: Lexie Mendell

— Coaches Award: Ashley Hardin


— MVP: Kenneth Kinlaw

— Coaches Award: Dawson Edge


— MVP: Ethan Hines

— Offensive Award: Michael Walter

— Offensive Award: Eian Hines

— Defensive Award: Kyle Tatum

— Defensive Award: Xavier Wooten

Boys Soccer

— MVP: Spencer Scott

— Coaches Award: Grey Caballero

— Defensive Award: Pierce Melvin

— Offensive Award: Greyson Heustess

— Offensive Award: Brooks McGill


— MVP: Kyle Tatum

— Coaches Award: Xavier Wooten

— Coaches Award: Sincere Smith


— MVP: Emily Scott

— Coaches Award: Majesti Corbett

— Defensive Player of the Year: JaTyra Moore-Peterson

— Offensive Player of the Year: Kaley Smith


— Most Valuable Cheerleader: Cassidy Davis

— Most Valuable Cheerleader: Blaire Potter

Girls Soccer

— Most Valuable Player: Ashley Hardin

— Coaches Award: Lexie Mendell

— Offensive Award: Justyna Gargala

— Offensive Award: Hannah DeVane

— Defensive Award: Ting Lin

— Defensive Award: Cassidy Davis

Boys Track

— MVP: Eian Hines

— MVP: Ethan Hines

— Coaches Award: Travaris Carter

Girls Track

— MVP: Shanell McMillian

— MVP: Cemizha Stephens

— Coaches Award: Venna Metz





Scott, Tatum are tabbed top athletes at East Bladen High

Staff report