Knights honor their athletes

By: Staff report

DUBLIN — West Bladen High School recently honored its student-athletes during its annual athletic awards banquet.

Several special awards, as well as the school’s 2016-17 male and female athletes of the year, were announced.

Those special award-winners were …

— Male Athlete of the Year: Hunter Pait, a senior who played football and baseball for the Knights.

— Female Athlete of the Year: Laikyn Pait, a senior who played volleyball, basketball and softball for the Lady Knights.

— Knight in Shining Armor Award: Jimmy Schultz

— Comeback of the Year Award: T.J. Guyton

— Cody Hammond Award: Derrick Long

— Award for Years of Service: Greg Sykes

The rest of the awards, by sport, were as follows …


— Special Teams MVP: Scott Bowen

— Offensive MVP: B.J. Drake

— Defensive MVP: Hunter Pait

— Lineman of the Year: Hunter Jackson

— Leadership Award: James Moore

— Daniel Long Award: Jonathan Ashworth

— Rising Star Award: Jonathan Robinson

Boys Soccer

— MVP- Victor Lopez

— Offensive Award: Jorchael Monroy

— Defensive Award: Caleb Johnson

— Coaches Award: Fernando Carranza


— Best All-Around Award: Morgan Schumacher

— Coaches Award: Kaylee Stevens

— Knight Award: Kassidy Anderson

— Spark Award: Jenna Dove

Boys Basketball

— MVP: Sayaun Dent

— Knight Award: John Bowen

— Coaches Award: Kalvin Page

Girls Basketball

— MVP: Logan Autry

— Most Improved Award: Jerena Purdie

— Coaches Award: Laikyn Pait


— Most Valuable Cheerleader: Destinee Singletary

— Coaches Award: Tyrionna Dockery

— Best All Around: Kayla Hunt


— MVP- T.J. Guyton

— Co- Most Improved: Hunter Pait

— Co-Most Improved: Caleb Scholar

— Defensive Award: Jarrett Williams

— Coaches Award: Scott Bowen


— Coaches Award: Sophie Singletary

— Gold Glove Award: Logan Autry

— Knight Award: Alanna Ludlum

— Offensive Award: Carley Dawson

— The Wilma Hughes Award: Kassidy Anderson


— Low Average Award: Sean Smith

— Coaches Award: Evan Richardson

— Most Improved Award: Wyatt Bordeaux

Girls Soccer

— Offensive MVP: Kristen Hunt

— Defensive MVP: Akira Grimes

— Coaches Award: Mellenie Hernandez

— Comeback Player Award: Hannah Malcolm

Boys Track

— Top Sprinter Award: Tykee Jefferies

— Top Distance Award: Justin Nickle

— Top Field Event Award: Issacc Arellano

— MVP: James Moore

Girls Track

— Top Sprinter Award: Turea Lucy

— Top Distance Award: Alexis Ray

— Top Field Event Award: Keyonce Morrisey

— MVP: Patience Parker

Girls Tennis

— MVP: Alanna Ludluum

— Most Improved: Savannah Lee

— Most Improved: Conner Brisson

— Knight Award: Amber Long

Boys Tennis

— Coaches Award: Edgardo Lara

— Most Improved Award: Jose Luis-Hernandez Osono
Hunter Pait, Laikyn Pait tabbed West Bladen’s Athletes of the Year

Staff report