Nine candidates file in last hours for Nov. 7 election in Bladen County

By: W. Curt Vincent - Bladen Journal

ELIZABETHTOWN — The final two days of filing for the Nov. 7 municipal elections was a flurry of activity for the Bladen County Board of Elections, as nine candidates threw their hats into the ring to fill available seats.

The filing period ended at noon on Friday.

The town of Tar Heel remains a bit in limbo as all available seats have not been filed for. The Board of Elections could have chosen to extend the filing deadline, but did not, which means one of the town council seats will need to produce a write-in candidate.

After current Mayor Roy Dew filed for re-election on Wednesday, incumbent council members Angie Hall and Sam Allen filed their paperwork on Thursday.

Others who filed on Thursday were:

— Greg Sykes for town council in Bladenboro.

— Jimmy Hudson for town council in Clarkton.

— Richard Sibbett for town council in Dublin.

— Jeff Smith for town council in Dublin.

— Pamela Graham for town council in East Arcadia.

In the town of Dublin, long-time Mayor Horace Wyatt has opted not to run for re-election, opening the door and setting up a showdown for the position between Darryl Dowless and Alex Hursey, each of whom filed on Friday.

Voters must be registered 25 days before an election to vote on Election Day. For the Nov. 7 elections, the registration deadline is Oct. 13. Voters may also register and vote during the early voting period using “same-day registration” in places where absentee voting is authorized.

W. Curt Vincent can be reached by calling 910-862-4163 or email at

W. Curt Vincent

Bladen Journal