Primary election holds tough decisions for voters

By: Chrysta Carroll - Bladen Journal

As Bladen County voters gear up for this year’s primary, they will have to make tough decisions prior to heading to the polls on Tuesday.

Voting will be open at all precincts from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.


Bladen County Sheriff


One of the most hotly contested races in Bladen County this year will be the battle of the blue.

On the Republican ticket, incumbent Sheriff Jim McVicker will be challenged by Clarkton resident Billy Ward.

Democratic voters will also have a duo from which to choose, in Council resident Hakeem Brown and Bladenboro resident Gary Edwards.


Bladen County Commissioners


Though three seats are up for grabs this year, only one will be contested in the primary. Democratic incumbent Russell Priest will be challenged for his District 3 seat by Tar Heel resident William D. Whitley.


Bladen County Board of Ed


District 1 will see a contested race on the Democratic ticket when incumbent Gary Rhoda tries to ward off challenger Sabrina Murchison of Clarkton.


District, state, and national races


— The N.C. State Senate race in District 9 will see Libertarians Anthony Mascolo, of Shallotte, take on Randolph Crow, of Kelly.

— N.C. House of Representatives: Democrats Martin (Tony) Denning, of White Lake, and Lawrence A. Aycock, of Clinton will battle for the District 22 seat.

— U.S. House of Representatives: Democrats in District 7 will get to select from Carolina Beach resident Kyle Horton and Goldsboro resident Grayson Parker, while those in District 9 will choose between Charlotte residents Dan McCready and Christian Cano. On the Republican ticket, the District 9 race will see Charlotte residents Robert Pittenger and Mark Harris vie against Eastover resident Clarence Joins, Jr.


Uncontested primaries


— Bladen County Commissioners: District 1 Arthur Bullock (D), District 2 Charles Ray Peterson (R), District 2 Dawson Singletary (D), District 3 Wayne Edge (R)

— Board of Education: At-large (3 seats) Cory Singletary (D), Vince Rozier (D), Tim Benton (D), Dennis Edwards (R); District 2 Roger Carroll (D); District 3 Alan West (D)

— Coronor: Kenneth Clark (D)

— Clerk of Superior Court: Niki Dennis (D)

— Register of Deeds: Beverly Parks (D), Jason Britt (R)

— District Attorney: Jon David (R)

— N.C. House of Representatives, District 22: William Brisson (R)

— N.C. State Senate, District 8: David Sink, Jr. (D), Bill Rabon (R)

— U.S. House of Representatives, District 7: David Rouzer (R)

— U.S. House of Representatives, District 9: Jeff Scott (L)

Voters are encouraged to check their voter registrations through the State Board of Elections & Ethics Enforcement’s Voter Lookup tool. Voters may also view their sample primary ballots there.

The following are poll locations in Bladen County:

— Abbotts: Community Building, 13670 Twisted Hickory Road, Bladenboro

— Bethel: Lions Club Building, 120 Second St., Dublin

— Bladenboro 1: Historical Building, 818 S. Main St., Bladenboro

— Bladenboro 2: Old Spaulding-Monroe School, 508 MLK Drive, Bladenboro

— Brown Marsh: Town Hall, 81 N. Elm St, Clarkton

— Carvers Creek: East Arcadia School, 21451 N.C. 87 East, Riegelwood

— Central: Shriner’s Building, Ì2016 N.C. 242 North, Elizabethtown

— Colly: Fire Department, 1879 White Lake Drive, White Lake

— Cypress Creek: Hickory Grove Fire Department, 132 N.C. 210 W., Garland

— Elizabethtown 1: Bladen County Recreation Department Gym, 803 W. King St., Elizabethtown

— Elizabethtown 2: Powell-Melvin Building, 450 Smith Circle, Elizabethtown

— Frenches Creek: Kelly Fire Department, 18628 N.C. 53 E., Kelly

— Hollow: Municipal Building, 14867 N.C. 87 W., Tar Heel

— Lake Creek: Bay Tree Fire Department, 12717 N.C. 41 East, Harrells

— Turnbull: Ammon Comm. Building, 120 Ammon Community Center Road, Garland

— Whites Creek: Lisbon Fire Department, 2585 White Plains Church Road, Clarkton

— White Oak: Ruritan Building, 9579 N.C. 53 West, White Oak

The primary election will be held Tuesday, May 8.

Chrysta Carroll can be reached by calling 910-862-4163 or emailing

Chrysta Carroll

Bladen Journal